Android

This might be the most self-indulgent thing I’ve ever written.

It seems that everyone has smart phones these days. For years I have resisted as long as possible but now I have relented.

It was, to be fair, a matter of time. I had been toying with the idea for months, and then it continued to gnaw on me that someone who claims to be running an IT business as a profession probably should have at least some modern technology with him…

For a little while I thought about an iPhone, but Apple have always irritated me. The phones are especially fun to use, but, at the end of the day, the marketing operation worked. It explicitly told me that I am not an Apple person, and I don’t think I would ever want to be.

Marketing is entirely in the head, and allowing it to rule our lives is the main reason why the planet is going to hell, but, ultimately, I cannot resist it. I try, but I don’t have the power.

My branding brain assured me that I’m not a Mac fanboi. So what were the alternatives? Blackberry, Windows and Android.

Unfortunately, Blackberry’s business branding was nice, 10 years ago, but now Blackberry has two associations: decline, and yoof+BBM. Neither of these are what I want to be connected to. Out it went.

Windows phone. Nokia. It was extremely tempting. I have been using a trusty Nokia for the past 2.5 years. It served me well, and did everything I want. I also liked the idea of being different. I always have. I wanted to go with something no one else had. And, to be fair, the new Lumia phones look awesome.

But then my functional brain kicked in – you know, the bit that I really should have been listening to all along. The Nokia phones were surprisingly expensive. And, for various financial reasons, my decision was that I had to be able to buy the phone unlocked.

Enter the Google Nexus 4. Unlocked at £239. Running the latest Android, and getting rave reviews left, right and centre. It had to be.

It has now been in my possession for a week, and it hasn’t disappointed. It has come in useful in a number of show off situations, and I know I’ve barely scratched the surface of what it can do app-wise. For, again, the main reason why I decided for Android over Windows was the app ecosystem is so much larger.

Sadly though, the ultimate irony is that I started writing this post on my phone, on the bus home today. I managed one line before the clunky web WordPress interface made me give up in frustration. Sometimes you can’t beat a good old fashioned full size keyboard. I haven’t quite got the hang of two thumb typing yet anyway…

You never stop learning with technology.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

