The Yearly Assessment

New Year is always a trepedatious time of year. It makes me feel worried about what’s to come, but more on that tomorrow. Instead, let me just assess what happened this year.

For this exercise, I have just read my traditional start of year post, in which I set out some of my expectations and worries for the year. It was actually pretty surprising.

The formal business to transact first is what kind of year was it. On balance, I think it was a Good Year, and it was just shy of being a Very Good Year. Business has been, it has to be said, very good, and even more so when I look back at what I wrote at the start of the year. I really didn’t expect to do as well as I have. I won’t really know until all the figures are in in a few months, but I think it was probably better than 2011, which itself was a good year financially.

I’m really surprised at that. I did think that the general economic gloom would have more of an effect than it actually did. It seems I am, for the moment, in a pretty reasonably protected sector. That’s good. I am quite pleased at what I have managed to achieve this year.

The major proviso is that at the start of the year I did think I was going to secure one of the major deals. In fact, I did do that, but it was the deal I didn’t really want. I need to do some work on that soon, but I am pretty surprised to hear myself be dismissive of what is potentially worth a lot of money to me. The main reason for that is how little I know about the field I’m going into. It has been a big positive from the year, but it is a worry for the year to come.

As far as personal life goes, that was a bit of a disaster. I did improve my relationships with a couple of friends, but others drifted still further, some of them pissed me off completely and I didn’t make any new friendships at all, let alone anything more significant.

In family life, we all move on. My brother is now in university, my other brother is starting a job, at last, my sister is in college, I have a new nephew, and my two other nephews are doing reasonably well. The wider family hasn’t suffered any disasters or crises, and my grandparents are still here, although my poor grandfather is worse than ever.

But I should be grateful. We’re doing OK. We have to do better, and we possibly should have done. But others have it a lot worse than us. I just wish my younger brothers and sisters would be a bit more appreciative of the help they get from the family; meanwhile I live far away from home and get no more help from my parents.

It’s because of these slight negatives that I can’t give this my very first ever Very Good Year. But I hold out good hopes for the next one. More tomorrow.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

