The Luck

Tonight I am going to see a music concert in London. And until Tuesday, I knew nothing about it.

It’s hard to believe it, but I actually won a competition. I’m not one to enter competitions ever, but when I got an e-mail from the Ed Sheeran mailing list about a month ago, I thought “why not!” because the questions were not stupidly easy, and I just had a good feeling about it. I submitted it and forgot about it.

On Tuesday I got an e-mail to tell me I was the winner of a pair of tickets. I was astonished. I was on site working for a client at the time, and I had to keep my excitement bottled up for the rest of the day. But, as is always the way with me, it wasn’t easy to just drop everything and go.

You see, I had had planned for several weeks my next trip home – and it was to be yesterday, coming back on Wednesday. Fortunately, I have rearranged everything, at some expense, but it is well worth it. Fact is, I tried to buy Ed Sheeran tickets when the tour was released, but I wasn’t quick enough and missed out. So for the chance to come back around, when I was prepared to spend £35 in the past, then spending that amount on rearranging tickets doesn’t seem that much really.

I know it will be good, but the tricky aspect is that I will be getting home around 1am, and I have a train to catch for a five hour journey at 9am. So: very little sleep, pack bags, make packed lunch, and then go. Then I’m working on Tuesday all day, followed by a trip back home again on Wednesday. Just as well I’ve had a fairly peaceful afternoon and evening yesterday to relax, cos the next week is going to be a bit mad.

It makes a change to have something nice to do, and something to look forward to. It’s certainly brightened my mood up after how dark it has been lately, brooding over the desperation of wanting to have my own place, and a pretty rubbish summer…

So I’m feeling a bit positive at the moment, for the first time in a while. Just gotta try and keep up the momentum!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

