A Stressful Week

There’s been something about the week that’s just passed that has really worn me down more than most. I think partly the glorious weather we have been having (that has now stopped, alas) has actually been pretty testing, due to the incessant heat and very warm nights – but also the volume of work has been high.

There was one particular job on Wednesday that necessitated a fair bit of travel to a new client, who potentially might add quite a bit of business on a more interesting project than usual. The main problem of it, however, was a two hour job turned into an eight hour one, which is never particularly good planning-wise. When things are really busy, the diary is packed to the rafters, so any overrun means I have to move jobs around, creating even more stress…

And this always seems to happen in those weeks when I’m planning to go home for a few days.

In the end it worked out OK but it has left me feeling run down and really tired. The worst of it is is that one project from my freelance web agency had come through at the worst possible time, two weeks after it was supposed to. And, as always, it’s massively urgent, meaning I either sacrifice some of the extended bank holiday weekend I was looking forward to, or drop them in the shit and end up with no more work from them.

As usual in life, work has you over a barrel. You either do it to earn the money to live, or you refuse it and have none. In the end, what are you supposed to choose?

Even yesterday evening, going out with my family was not particularly enjoyable. We all went out for a meal… but when there are so many people, and so many opportunities for people to have an argument with each other it all just becomes so tedious. We all get on, but for some reason there is always one issue that gets picked up and used to annoy someone, and then they get nasty, and the atmosphere is soured…

These days, it most often involves my nephew, because he is definitely feeling a bit put out by his new brother, who is now an amazing seven months old. That time has flown. The newest nephew is pretty entertaining, and starting to pick up a personality and beginning to make strange vocalisations as all babies do.

But anyway, it’s Sunday tomorrow, and I’m hoping I can finally get some proper sleep tonight. I’m so tired right now that I can’t really think straight. I’m just not convinced I can carry on in this way for much longer. I know I seem to be saying that with boring regularity, but at some point soon I will have to do something about it.

To top it all, I’m almost certain a cold is beginning. A cold I caught, without question, from one of my customers this week, who was coughing and sneezing all over the place without any attempt to contain it. Fucking brilliant.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

