Minor Partying

It’s not been a particularly notable week. The days have flown by, I’ve been busy, but nothing too exciting.

Except for last night. Last night I had been invited to a house party. I had been looking forward to it for a while because I know the host well and there was also going to be free curry. Better still, as a vegetarian, she was going to make sure there was an option for me, rather than just eating poppadoms…

The funny thing was that my housemate had also been invited, as he also knows the host. We arrived about 7:30pm – and I proceeded to the bottle of wine I’d brought as I’d made sure I got a veggie one (yes, I’m that fussy). But I wasn’t very keen on arriving with my housemate as it almost makes it look like we’re an item, which we most definitely are not…

Anyway, it was as bad as I feared, getting introduced to people at the same time as my housemate, which was awkward. I know I shouldn’t be bothered, but it irritates me that people do make assumptions and I have to correct the record when people ask the inevitable questions. Not good. However, I did do so in the two occasions it was asked. The situation also benefited when my lightweight housemate decided he’d had enough after half an hour. Washout.

So I stayed until the end and got decidedly merry. I don’t really drink at all, so drinking a whole bottle of wine plus a bottle of beer had quite an effect on me. I wasn’t drunk, but I was definitely a lot more sociable than I normally am. This was good, as not knowing anyone else there except the hosts, it passed away the hours. They also had a table football, which was excellent fun, although it was in the garden and bloody freezing…

I stumbled home at around midnight as it wasn’t going to be a very long night anyway. I enjoyed it. I was in one of those moods though where if there would have been anyone females there around my age I might have actually started talking to them. I have felt a bit like that lately. The time is fast running out for me to get cracking on this relationship business…

In the event, that didn’t happen. Instead, there was much banter about age and the passing of time. It was quite distressing when we were all talking about the 80s. Not that I remember any of it, being born in 1985, but I realised that the 80s are no longer “20 years ago” as they had almost always been. They are now 30 years ago. I am showing my age quite badly…

Still, I was the youngest male there, so I got to make them all feel old. It won’t be long before the boot’s on the other foot…

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

