The Day Tomorrow

Though this week has vanished very quickly, tomorrow never comes, as they say. There is always another day past the one we’re at now, and into those days we fill all our hopes and dreams.

In my case, the hope is simply to get through tomorrow! In 24 hours time, I will be hiking across hills in North Yorkshire, no doubt being buffetted by winds and rain. Not good at all. The forecast was originally good for Friday 15th May, but as the day has got closer, the prospects have worsened. It could be worse, it could be heavy rain – but it’s still not going to be comfortable.

The good news is that I have managed to raise £120 in sponsorship. More than I’d hoped for or expected. I was worried I’d only get to £50 or so. That’s good, though I haven’t reached the so-called “minimum” the organisers are demanding. They can shove it. Times are hard for most people, though I am rather annoyed at some of my stingier friends. I know that if the roles were reversed I would be sponsoring them. Not that they would ever do anything like this.

One of the reasons why I wanted to do tomorrow was that the friend that I’m doing it with had convinced me we could talk business and discuss the potential for us collaborating on a future enterprise. Then he went and got himself a new job anyway, one in Salisbury. Great. Sometimes I think there’s something wrong with him. He makes lots of promises and then very quickly backtracks on them. It’s a wonder he hasn’t pulled out of this charity gig too and left me in the lurch. But I’ll bet he’s actually forgotten all about the pledge he made. Idiot.

So now I’m doing an event that I could do without. I’ve done what preparation I can, though it’s actually been limited because, somehow, I’ve managed to bruise the bottom of my ankle, which has made walking not difficult but niggly. Every step a little nudge of pain. Maybe it’s my shoes, though they have been fine. The last preparatory walk I did was about 13 miles on Monday, in the glorious sunshine. It went well, apart from the route taking me along a road for miles with no pavements and cars constantly going past. In fact, after that day, I vowed never to do an urban walk again, unless the pavements are further from the cars anyway. Nothing worse than cars constantly flying past at 50mph. Somewhat nerve-wracking, I can say.

Anyway, I’ll be glad when it’s all over. I’m leaving tonight for Leeds, where I’m staying overnight, and will meet my friend tomorrow morning to head off to the event. Then it’s a case of playing it by ear. If all goes well it should be done in roughly 12 hours. If not, I’ll be back at the starting point after 17 miles or so. Then it’s another night in Leeds, followed by a swift departure early Saturday morning. Here’s hoping the Travellodge isn’t too bad…

Now to build up those carbohydrate stores…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

