The Mother of Invention

… is necessity, so they say, and it seems to be true. Because my necessity at the moment is driven out of extreme boredom. So my brain has actually come up with a few schemes to pass the time.

The first of which is a rather good idea I’ve had relating to the work I do involved in youth football. Not that anyone reads this blog to steal the idea, but I’d still rather keep it under wraps. Suffice it to say that I’ve wasted several of the past few days installing CMS systems on some web space I’ve got to try them out. I think I’ve finally found the one I wanted.

It’s also been a bit of an education. I’m not a good web designer, but I’m pretty decent at HTML/CSS (and standards compliant too, bloody Internet Explorer). I can’t do anything too fancy as I’m not that good, but I’ll give most things a bash. But now I’ve realised that with CMSs, the days of getting too deeply involved in writing HTML markup are almost over. The joy of templates and easy administration systems makes it all a breeze, and you can get on making the site look the way you want, rather than worrying over tiresome HTML/CSS semantics, and wondering why it looks so shit on IE.

Of course, I’m a late arrival to this bandwagon. I’m sure CMS has been going on for a long time, so in that respect it’s good to finally catchup, probably just at the moment the bandwagon is moving on anyway. I’ll bet I’m still out of date. But then I always will be as I just can’t cope with programming like PHP or databases like MySQL.

At the moment though it does feel like time wasting as, for the site to work, I need writers/bloggers. I’m sure they’re out there, and I’ve got some ideas to find them. But even if nothing comes from it, it’s kept me entertained and gave me some new experiences.

The other idea (yes, just two) I’ve had is more financial and is related to a website I read daily. They run an annual competition, and I’m thinking it needs to step up a gear. I’m going to drop the organiser an e-mail and see if he’s considered my idea before. For all I know he has and it’s not practical, but hey, I like sticking my oar in where it’s not wanted on the internet. In Real Life, I doubt I’d be so bold. That’s the joy of having a different “personality” in cyberspace.

I’ve also been getting up half an hour earlier. It seems I have more time to do the things I want during the morning, so it makes more sense to tack it on here rather than at night where I don’t do anything anyway.

Oh, and on Wednesday I finally got round to giving blood. Well, it did help that they just down the road. Eight times now. How… exciting… but it was definitely the easiest donation I’ve ever done. I got there for 2pm and was out by 2:30pm. That’s including the 5-10 minute sit around at the end eating the amazingly good biscuits they have, and always wishing I could buy them in shops but can’t. My three-monthly craving for “Oat Crunch” is now satisfied.

And now, I require food. $DEITY bless whoever invented cereal. They must really have been in a fix.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

