Star Trekking

In recent days, thanks to a TV channel called Virgin 1, I have rekindled my long lost interest in Star Trek. Yes, alas, I am a Star Trek fan. My favourite Trek is probably Voyager, followed by TNG and then Deep Space Nine. The Original Series… well, it’s entertaining. But I don’t think it’s fair to class it as part of the rest of it, because it’s so very different. Enterprise doesn’t even get a look in.

One of the more unusual reasons why I like Voyager is the theme tune. To me, it is one of the best TV themes I’ve ever known. It’s such a fine piece of music, and every time I hear it it never fails to make the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. Music never ceases to amaze me – how is it possible for it to instil emotions? If only all classical music was like that – then I wouldn’t find the whole genre so boring.

I’ve always liked science fiction. It’s just a part of me that likes speculating and wondering about the distant future. It simply amazes me to think what astonishing things will exist in the future thanks to technology. Of course, we’re pretty much certain that travelling at speeds over the speed of light is impossible, but hey, we can dream can’t we? It’s sad to think that I won’t be around to see the wonders of technology in the future; I just have to be content with the fact that each living generation is, in a sense, living out the science fiction of several centuries before. Not that there was any sci fi then… what I mean is everything today is technologically brilliant compared to decades or centuries ago. Yes…

So Star Trek fits that nicely. It would be nice if there was a new show, but maybe it’s best if it’s just left alone now. They’ll only go and ruin it again. We don’t seem to be able to make good TV any more. Probably because everything is derivative and nothing is original nowadays. There can’t possibly be any new storylines left, can there? This is the problem facing all the narrative world. And yet, we continue to devour it on a regular basis. You don’t see the rate of book publishing coming down… And those TV soaps? They rehash the same thing year after year just in different characters. But they still plunder on…

We go through life with a quest for narratives. We learn it from an early age. Everything we do, we like it in a story. Watch the news for an example. Observe your own life for an example. Ordering events into a logical progression that makes sense. My daily routine. My life story.

Not that I’m going to make an interesting point out of this. It’s just something I’ve observed. And it just so happens that us science fiction fans like stories that slightly different to, say, what you get in TV soaps. But at the heart of it, the basic plots are the same, whether it’s set on a starship or in Coronation Street. That’s why I don’t understand it when people look down on science fiction as if it’s a rather geeky affair. It’s not. It’s just another way in which people have chosen to satisfy our thirst as humans for stories.

But now, unfortunately, the title of this post has reminded me of the eponymous song. It was amusing when I was a child. Still is, to a certain degree… but now it’s more annoying.

I don’t think a reminder is needed, but here it is anyway: http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=FCARADb9asE

$DEITY Bless YouTube!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

