Mocked By The Weather

One of the problems of this time of year is that it is invariably warm and sunny. Now, that in itself is not a problem – the issue is that I am undergoing some pretty intensive revision for exams, one of which is this Wednesday.

So I am forced to sit here for most of the day, looking out at the wonderful conditions with great envy. It wouldn’t be so bad if we had a garden to sit in – but no such joy. There is an area of tarmac to the back of us, which opens out from our patio doors onto an enclosed space used by the cars for the people who live on this block. It does get the sunshine, but it’s hardly a pleasant experience.

Having said that, yesterday there was no choice. It was sunny and hot. I wanted to be outside. So I managed to cajole another housemate into sitting outside with me, where revision then occurred for a couple of hours. This went pretty well, I thought. There was just enough shade there too to make sure I didn’t get sunburnt.

But it’s always the same. As long as I can remember, I have always been revising for summer exams in glorious conditions. The exam is always on a warm day too, and the exam hall is always stiflingly hot.

I shouldn’t be surprised… it is almost summer after all. But it is actually spring. What we’re seeing here in Hull at the moment is probably all the “summer” is going to amount to. I’m sure by June it will be raining every day again.

With that in mind, I’m worried that, thanks to exams, I’m missing the best of it.

Otherwise, the revision is going pretty well and I’m looking forward to getting this exam out the way by Wednesday. Once that’s done I’ve got one more the following Thursday and then we really will be all over. I’ve said it many times, but I can’t wait.

14 days to go.

Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Summer Revisited « A Grown Up Now. In Theory.

Leave a Reply

