Grinding To A Halt Before Starting Up Again

In my last post I complained about how I spent a day not working. Well, in truth, in the past few weeks I have been spending almost all of it not working. It’s not my fault… the elections meant that my MP was hardly ever in the office. No MP, no work to do. So I had to keep myself entertained.

But now the elections are over things are steadily returning back to normal, though my MP does not really have any sense of normality. Everything is always up in the air. Flying by the seat of your pants, kinda thing. He has this amazing ability to blag his way through almost everything in life. That seems to be essential if you’re a politician anyway, but he is exceptionally good at it.

Though it is all now coming to a close. Which, I admit, I am going to miss. A little bit. I know once it’s all over I’ll be thinking “just what did I actually do in London for eight months?”… and regretting not using my time to its fullest extent. But I am trying to stop myself thinking in such ways. I have done what I have done. I can’t change it. It was always going to be tricky… but I know that I have now achieved what I set out to do.

I was always very apprehensive about doing this degree, largely because I was so unsure as to what I was letting myself in for. In reality, it hasn’t been that special. But I don’t think that was the point. I haven’t done anything of great importance… but I have experienced a lot of new things, gained some new skills, gained some confidence, and had a lot of fun along the way. Sure it has also been frustrating, and that is largely why I think I’ve had enough of it here… but on balance I think it’s been worth it.

So, next week, on Sunday, the final curtain will be drawn on my year in London. If my bank account could speak, it would say “Not before time” in relief. Though it hasn’t cost me as much as I thought it would. I just am a thrifty kinda person.

But it means I really have to enjoy my final week here. I honestly don’t know when I will next be in London. If I had my way, I would never live here again. It’s a tolerable place to live, and there are many, many nice areas. But I just don’t like the mentality of life here. I don’t like the fact that the infrastructure everywhere is completely stretched to breaking point. The high density lifestyle is just not for me. But it’s not just the obvious things like trains, roads and transport in general. Shops, supermarkets, dentists, doctors, hospitals, schools… everything is massively oversubscribed. I can barely move around Tesco or ASDA when I go to a supermarket. It’s ridiculous.

It has been an eye opener. Like I said, I don’t know when I will live in London again. But if I had done this course, I can safely say I would not have known if I would ever have anything to do with London other than be a fleeting, passing tourist. So, at the very least, this course has allowed me to try something new. Which is what life’s all about, isn’t it? And the opportunity cost hasn’t been that high, really.

Next week will be the transition period. I will say goodbye to lots of my new friends, and move on. Again. My life always seems to be in a constant flux. On the one hand I might say I’m looking forward to some kind of stability at the end of all this process.

But then again, I don’t think I’d agree with that. I love the changes. I love the new challenges in all different angles. Which is why I can’t ever see myself settling down forever in one location.

You know what, I know I will be fascinated if/when (because you don’t know what life holds in store!) I re-read this post in 20 years time. Full of misty-eyed, youthful, innocent enthusiasm.

Is it not good to have achieved a balance whereby you’re looking forward to living life, purely for its own sake?

I am intrigued.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

