Quickly Typed While No One Was Around

This is the first chance I’ve had to write something since I moved down to London. It has been a very different few days, but all is well, and things are finally beginning to feel a little like home.

My new place is in a quite decent area, surprisingly better than I thought it would be. Indeed, at times you could probably fairly say that it is too quiet. It surprises me just how little I hear, apart from the massive building site behind my house. Whoops. I don’t know how I didn’t notice this when I viewed the property, but at least all the building goes on while I’m in work…

Talking of which, the year in Parliament is now on. I started last Thursday, and since then have done very little. My MP is currently away, and so I haven’t even met him. This is quite frustrating as my job entails maintaining his diary, which is almost impossible if I can’t physically speak to him to agree or disagree to various items.

For now though, the job is exceptionally dull, since I’m sitting at a desk, in front of a computer, for extended periods of time. This is exactly why I changed my direction in life. Sure, computers are an important part of society now, but I don’t want my career to involve them as the primary means through which I am productive. If you can call the endless twittering, clicking, scrolling and typing “productive” in the first place.

So far I haven’t been enthralled with what I’ve been doing, but I’m quite confident it won’t remain that way. Once I’m settled in (and I finally have the ability to login as me instead of a random guest account) I’ll be able to actually do my job, and arrange a few perks for myself on the MP’s behalf. Such as going to events on his behalf, which usually involves free food and drink. Can’t beat it.

I suppose we all descend into 9-to-5 machines eventually. But the key is obviously enjoyment – if you like it, then do it. But I don’t think I could derive that much satisfaction from this. As I have observed from a distance – it is too dishonest. This career involves endless fobbing off of constituents, as well as there being too much scope for influence from people who will quite happily pay to do so. Maybe I will go into detail as the year goes by, but right now I don’t have the time.

The worst part of moving has been the fact that BT quoted three weeks to reconnect an existing phone line. Luckily we live in an NTL area, but they still quoted just over a week. Thankfully, I will have the internet back on Saturday. I can’t live without the communication opportunities it brings, not to mention research for essays or just in general, shopping and the website I’m meant to keep updated, which is currently in a state of disrepair. This is yet another reason why I don’t want a job with a computer at the heart of it – because I go on the computer enough at home.

Oh well. Just three hours to go before I can go home. More likely this weekend… assuming I don’t suffer another farce. And there have been many for me to write about.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

