Away Wit’ Ya

No, I haven’t gone all Irish, but unfortunately I have just caught the end of the X-Factor (one of my family’s favourite TV shows), and Louis Walsh’s accent sticks in my head. But the sentiment is in the right place.

This cryptic mystery will easily be explained as I carefully point out that I probably should have worked out somewhere to live in London by now. Unfortunately, this is not the case. I’m due to start my internship in Parliament there on the 25th of September. Sure, this is still a little while away, but I know it will fly by. I haven’t been to London all summer, even though I had promised myself I would do so.

So now I’m left in a difficult position. It has been made many times worse by the clearly deliberate ignorance of the messages I have left for my alleged future housemates. Only one of them replied, and I would have been astounded if this particular person hadn’t… but to me, I’m guessing the other two have sneaked off and arranged something already.

This is not good. I was mildly looking forward to living in a big four bedroomed house. There was definitely much more value in doing that compared with what I’m going to have to pay now for a two bedroomed flat. Worse is the fact that many two bedroomed flats are situated above kebab shops in dingy places in London. If I hadn’t set myself up with the possibility that things might be better then I don’t think I’d be as disappointed now. But as it happens, those two bastards sneaking off have ruined everything.

Not to worry. There is no value in doing so. I don’t have any more time to waste. It’s looking highly likely that some part of south east London is going to be my future home. I have never revealed where I live on this blog, but I might have said at some point that I am from the North of England. Living in Hull the past two years was compatible with that. I am a Northerner, whatever that means. So this prospect of living somewhere wayyy down South is a rather difficult prospect. I have never had a good word to say about London in my life – I hate the fact that all UK life seems to revolve around it – but I guess now I’m going to have to learn to love it. It’s going to be my home for the next year, after all.

So, with this in mind, I have planned a visit down to London next Saturday on the first train out of here in the morning. It’s going to be a long day. I would love to have somewhere to live sorted out the same day, and I’m going to book some viewings this week to try to bring that into effect.

My life is beginning to move off at its own pace again after it being on hold for most of this ending part of the summer. And that’s probably about right. I love my home, but I’m starting to feel that time is ticking away again, and that I’ve not been up to much of late.

So it’s time to get things back on track. It’s nearly time to resume my life.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

