Passing The Time

Back home, life is proceeding at a rapid pace. I got back bright and early on Saturday at 10am, extremely tired. I just couldn’t sleep the night before, maybe because I’d eaten too many pancakes with syrup. I got about three hours sleep, and eventually gave up trying at 2am. It wasn’t much later that I had to get the train anyway, and I still had lots of packing and cleaning to do.

It was a fun journey, and it was rather cool to think that taking this early train option meant that ordinarily I’d only just be getting out of bed, yet there I was three-quarters of the way home. Then I got back home in time for a second, slightly late, breakfast. And I got to watch a sunrise from on the train. Made all the tiredness worthwhile.

The week so far has been spent doing not very much at all, yet that was always my intention. After the stress of researching and writing essays, having some relaxation time is exactly what I needed. But I’ve also been doing some other things, including taking my sister and nephew to school, collecting them at the end of the day, and then cleaning the home inbetween. As I’ve observed before, it feels good to help out in this way. This is the kind of stuff that I can’t do in Hull, and if I tried to clean the house there, for example, it wouldn’t be appreciated, I wouldn’t get any help, and it would be a mess again within hours. Plus, it’s such a dark and depressing house anyway. I’ll be glad to see the back of it in mid-May.

The other, rather more important, thing that has happened this week is that I have bitten the bullet… and volunteered to work in my local primary school as much as they need me from mid-May to mid-July. The headteacher said she’d be happy for me help out, and I’m nervously looking forward to it. It will be interesting to see how it all works out. Whatever happens it will definitely help me make a decision as to whether this is exactly the career I want to go into. So, now America is out of the question, I guess I should contact the camp and tell them I’m definitely not coming back. I meant to warn them ages ago… I hope they won’t be disappointed. I’m sad I won’t be able to go, as I was really looking forward to seeing everyone again. But the logistics are against me…

To finish… The (Disturbing) Things Kids Say: my six year old nephew told me that when they were doing “News” in school, having to write about a news story, he was the only one who wrote about Iraq (which won him a gold star). When I asked him why, he told me it was because they are always bombing, shooting and killing each other. What a sad world we live in if this is the kind of message children are picking up already. Kids are not stupid, and they deserve far more respect than we give them…

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

