Double Day

The past couple of days have been a useful diversion. After a very unconvincing drubbing at Quiz Night on Tuesday, I could do with something to cheer me up…

I’d forgotten that my parents had said they were going to conduct a quick visit this week. It’s half-term at home, so they brought one of my brothers and one of my sisters with them too. They turned up on Wednesday night, so we went out for a meal, and then came back to watch the new series of the Apprentice. This was compulsive viewing in my family, and my student “family” too, last year although I can’t find any reference to it in this blog from last year. I guess I wasn’t too keen on talking about my TV watching habits.

Anyway, that was a lot of fun, and this morning they came back so we could do some stuff today. I told them that I needed some smart clothes for an upcoming visit to London, not to mention for all of next year… so a shopping trip was on the cards. I normally enjoy shopping, but this one went on for so long that it was extremely tedious by the time I’d put together all the things I needed. My bank balance took a hit, but I’m glad I’ve got that sorted… I was getting rather worried about it.

After that, we made a trip down to the Humber Bridge for a stroll… in the freezing cold wind. That was entertaining, to say the least. Amongst all this, I did most of the driving in my parents’ to get in some much needed practice; I thought it would help to keep building on my experience. I feel pretty confident at the wheel now, and although there are still a few mistakes, such as me getting a bit complacent with the clutch and stalling twice in a row when I hadn’t stalled in the hour or so of driving I’d clocked up, I feel I’m starting to get there. I’ll probably… maybe… come back to this after Easter.

It was great to see my parents, and my brother and sister. I sometimes feel like I’m not expressive enough in my gratitude to them. I said, “Thanks for coming down” as my mum was leaving, but I’m not sure she heard. Bollocks. I’d hate for them to think I’m ungrateful. You know… sometimes I feel like I’m not like other men, in that I’m a lot more expressive and acknowledge my emotions than them… but for some reason, I don’t think I’m very good at saying “thanks” to my parents. There’s also a side reason (excuse?) in that I know that if, say, I sent my parents an e-mail saying “thanks for coming, it was good to see you”… then I know my mum would only get extremely emotional. I don’t like to do that to her. It was bad enough going through leaving home. But either way, I’m extremely grateful. I just need to make more of an effort to say it in person.

In other news, I have a tedious presentation tomorrow – a presentation I wrote weeks ago in a moment of boredom. So that will take minimal effort to deliver. But I should… possibly… think about working on one of my essays this weekend. Or failing that, do much work on my research project. If I could make some considerable academic progress, I think I’d feel a lot better. At the moment I reckon I’m storing up trouble for the next couple of weeks. I’m going to have to start motivating myself on this. And there are still many important decisions I need to take…

And yes. I have changed the name of this blog – slightly. I decided “All Grown Up Now” sounds a bit stupid. Not to mention it is quite close to the name of the Rugrats cartoon. So it’s become “A Grown Up Now. In Theory.” I think that fits a little better. You aren’t imagining it.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

