A Problem Diagnosed And A Problem Solved?

After spending a few days worried about the mental state of one of my friends, I eventually had to say something. Not to him at first, but talk it through with the rest of my mates to make them sit up and realise how big this problem is. The friend in trouble has recently started smoking, and now drinks a lot almost every day. Not good.

Eventually, I managed to get the point home and me and one other friend agreed to speak with him separately on different days to try to work out what was going on. At the end of this process (which first involved me saying something in a much too confrontational manner to him, which made me apologise later) we’ve made some progress. He claims he’s in control, which I think is a little doubtful given that he told me drinking “makes the days shorter”. There’s a deeper problem in there somewhere which I don’t think he’s prepared to admit to. I hope it doesn’t get to that stage, but, after me explaining to my other friends about the fact that it is only ever me who seems to notice these things and think we should do something about it, maybe now I’ll get a bit more support. It weighs heavily on my mind, especially as his mum and dad asked us to keep an eye on him last time this happened. Either way, we’ll just have to see what happens from here…

In other news… I have sacked my driving instructor. I’m probably going to take a break from it for a while now. It was just too much of a distraction and a constant annoyance in my brain for it dragging on for so long, one hour a week. When I come back to it… maybe in a couple of months time, I will definitely want to finish the whole lot off quickly with an intense course. In fact… just as I had originally planned for it to be. Oh well.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

