Post 100

I wish I had been saving up Post 100 for something particularly special, but I don’t think I can hold out any longer waiting for something – anything – to happen.

For a first week back at University, it has been remarkable in that every class that was supposed to happen actually did happen. Normally there’s timetable confusion of some kind and the lecturers turn up half way through the week, but this time it all got off to flyer. I’ve done all the work I wanted to do, and as a bonus, I now have another shipment of work on – the same stuff that I did in September last year which earned me £350/week for three weeks. So I spent all day today doing lots of that to get me ahead of the game.

It seems I can show remarkable self-discipline when it comes to work. One of my housemates who does the same the course as me has spent all this week doing absolutely nothing, despite having exactly the same workload as me. So now he’s cramming all his seminar writing into this weekend. A couple of hours ago, he still hadn’t started. This isn’t really a surprise.

I just wish I could show the same level of self-discipline when it comes to trying out new things in life. It’s probably more a lack of self-confidence than anything else. Sometimes I manage to talk myself out of doing simple things like phoning companies. I can phone my family, but I don’t like using the phone for commercial stuff, like paying bills or even to phone the council for a new recycling box. I end up having to force myself to do these things, even though they are relatively non-traumatic. Hmmm.

It’s beginning to dawn on me just how much I have to do this semester. It’s the same as it was last year, but this time I have a mighty project instead of three in-class assessments I had in my free elective maths module. I actually prefer coursework, but right now, when I have distractions as good as the game “The Movies” which I got for Christmas, I don’t really want to pull myself away from it. I guess I’m going to have to find some more of my fabled self-discipline to stop this one. It’s been a while since I found a game this addictive.

Anyway. I’ve now declared it my evening off, so I’m enjoying some music and perhaps a little gaming in a minute. It’s just a shame that there’s such an awful smell up here in my room. I have no clue what one of my housemates is cooking. Whatever it is, it smells disgusting. And it’s been lingering for hours now. Somehow, everything he cooks manages to stick in the house for ever… sometimes even surviving overnight. Might have something to do with the fact that he’s shit at washing dishes…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

