JCB Song

Allow me to induldge in a little sentimentality…

A few weeks ago I heard talk of a song called “JCB” and so was always referred to as the JCB Song. Two weeks ago on Top of the Pops, I saw the song performed live, and heard it for the first time. Pretty good, I thought. I didn’t really listen to the words. I didn’t really know what it was about. It was just a decent tune.

Last Sunday, the song became the Number 1 in the charts for the UK.

A few days after I came back home, I managed to see the video on a music channel. The video is nothing less than wonderful, and only at this point did I choose to properly listen to the lyrics. I was later amazed to learn that it’s been on the internet for a long time now.

When I properly listened to the words, it really struck a chord with me. It’s such a fantastic tale of a boy’s relationship with his father, one which I imagine is repeated with a lot of children. Most boys elevate their dads to heroic or god-like status. I know I did. Their dad fights off the bullies, the ghosts, the burglars, the teachers and all manner of baddies. They are, in short, our first line of defence. “I’m five years old and my dad’s a giant sitting beside me”

And what a fine tale to tell. A worthy subject for a song, and the sentimental aspect of it gets me every time… especially when I see the video as the JCB lifts off into the sky and they fly off into the sunset. It’s such a happy image, epitomising everything that should be in a father-son relationship (and father-daughter too). I appreciate that it’s not that way for a lot of people, and often the father is at fault for being incapable of doing what they should be doing. Unlike the song, I never had problems with bullying (the somewhat darker undercurrent of the song is also part of its attraction to me), but I was a bit of an outcast, and if it wasn’t for my mum and dad supporting me to be my own person, I wouldn’t be who I am today.

With this in mind, I had to buy my first CD single in about four years. The decision was made easier by the fact that the song was released by a record label who don’t even seem to have a website, and by a band who have achieved no chart success before, and from talented musicians who are telling a genuine story. Now I have my own copy of the song and video which will forever be a reminder to me: of the vitalness and significance of my relationship with my dad; how important the relationship is for father/child in general… and, if I am ever lucky enough to have children, to be the best damn role model I can.

I think that’s worth celebrating. It seems a bit weird to mark out finding this song as a significant moment in my life, highlighting a moment of realisation which I had not properly had before, but hey… it’s my life after all.

And while I’m thinking about all this, what better place to be than with my family over Christmas?

Life is good.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

