New Things

Things have moved a little since last time. The absent housemate has returned. It was, as predicted, girlfriend issues. But it went a little further into the realms of adolescent crisis of identity, confidence and ability. The kind of thing I seem to go through on a regular basis, despite being done with this whole “growing up” thing – allegedly. So society says.

So that turned into a late nighter when me and a friend offered as much advice as we could. It seemed to help a lot, but I still think he’s not himself. It will take a while to get through it, of course. We just have to be there to help support him. Unusual for something like this to come out in such a public way though. I wonder if he’s feeling embarrassed about it now. I know if I came out with all the stuff I dredge through in my mind I probably would be…

On a happier note, I won ¬£50 a couple of days ago for completing surveys on the YouGov website. I had a feeling I was going to win something one of these days. The first time I’ve ever won anything in my life. I’m pretty sure of that. The money has been spent on a brand new pair of speakers, which I’m very impressed with. I’ve never spent more than a tenner on PC speakers, but this is worth it. Much more powerful bass. I also flogged my old pair for a fiver. Not bad.

I also decided to break the driving lessons hiatus by calling up a new instructor company. Their cars look like the reverse of ladybirds – black with red writing on – but I think I can handle it. In theory I have my first lesson on Monday at 3pm as long as my new instructor contacts me tomorrow. It’s going to set me back a lot, but I have stashed most of my money for the work I did at the start of this term for this very purpose. I want this damn thing out the way.

I also passed the practice theory test for the first time today. I bought some CDs the other day off eBay which have loads of “official” theory tests on them. I had failed 4 in a row until today – all pretty borderline. But today I passed. Things are looking good.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Good to know you are finally getting on the road!

    I’m thinking of signing up to YouGov after checking it out. They ask if anyone referred me to them. I was thinking if I put you, maybe you will get more credit? If you want, email me your email address and I will give you a mention when I sign up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

