The End is Nigh…

It’s startling just how quickly this summer has gone by. But then again, it’s just like every summer. In fact, since I quit my job in August last year to prepare for University, life has taken on a frenetic pace. My first year of Universiry flew by. Now this summer has disappeared in a blaze of fun and hard work. I doubt it will ever slow down. Even on Sunday of last week, when I was dreading this week to come… it hasn’t been an easy week for me – in fact it’s been a lot of manual labour and hard graft – but it has nevertheless gone by extremely quickly. There are now just two more working days left here… and I leave at 7am on Monday morning.

I’ve finally got a day off. This is my first whole day off for around two weeks. And I needed it. As I said, this week has been pretty tough. I’ve been helping with general maintenance around the main camp, including building retaining walls to stop the rain washing away paths… and I’ve been doing a lot of cleaning cabins where the kids had stayed. It’s been dull as hell, but I’ve got through it. This day off has come at a good time as I was about to collapse with exhaustion. Lifting railway sleepers is a good way to really drain you of energy, that’s for sure. And there’s still a nasty day to come on Sunday which will involve hauling bales of hay around. Not nice.

But now I’m looking forward to going home. I feel like I’m ready for it. It’s almost as if I’ve seen enough. I’d love to come back again, but I’ve been away for too long. I want to see my family again. I want to share the stories I’ve experienced here with them and my friends. I want to sleep in my own bed again. That would be nice. I want to celebrate just how great this summer has been. I can only properly do that at home.

And so when that flight takes off from New York bound for England on Monday night, I’ll be pretty happy overall. I don’t feel like I’m leaving anything behind, because almost everyone I knew or everything that was worth doing has already left me here. I would love to explore the USA a little, but I don’t have the time. I need to get back to prepare for University and see my family for a while. Maybe next year. It’s not exactly going to go anywhere.

Life is… good. Ish.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

