Settling Down

Sort of. Right now the new campers are still a pain, but they are slowly becoming accustomed to the way of life we expect from the kids at my camp. It’s been a difficult few days as we continually try to re-emphasise the boundaries, and not to mention try to get them to go to sleep before midnight (!) … but I think we’re finally beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Thankfully there are a few kids who are starting to become my favourites. There are five of them from first term who have stayed over from this term and a couple of those are great, but I’m at last beginning to connect with several from this term. A lot of them are impressed when I go up to the front of the room and sing a song with a bit of rock-and-roll to fire them up. Last night I did Breakfast At Tiffanies and I think it’s the most attention I’ve ever been paid so far by them at my evening campfire activities. I got a lot of applause at the end, but I’m still finding it difficult to convince some of them that singing isn’t stupid. I didn’t have this problem last term but this term there are a few who just want to listen. They enjoy my songs, but they don’t want to sing along. Maybe with time.

But right now I have a nice day off. It’s just what I need to get myself in order for the rest of this week. Sunday is this term’s All Camp Campfire… and this term me and my fellow campfire counselors are putting on some sort of skit based on Scooby Doo. I don’t think it’ll beat last term’s Willy Wonka skit, but we’ll see. Should be fun, anyway.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

