New Kids

The new term is underway. The second and final batch of campers arrived on Wednesday under glorious sunshine. The weather here has been scorching for the past five days – too hot for me… and I’ve gained a lot of extra sunburn which is bad.

I’m not the greatest fan of the new kids though. There are 20 more than last term and a lot of them have serious attitude problems. They’re disruptive, far too talkative and generally bad mannered. I don’t remember the kids at the start of the first term being like that. It’s making the job a lot tougher and the staff are starting to come to the end of their patience with a lot of them. Most of these kids are older and so understand in greater depth the best way to push buttons and wind people up. They tend to fight each other a lot too. It’s tiring but I’m not going to give up and I hope the other counselors don’t too. I never expected things to be all positive, and so I guess this is going to be a rough week or two while we set the boundaries and they keep testing them. Should be interesting…

In the meantime, I have a lot of laundry that needs doing and no transportation into town to do it. It sucks having a day off on your own.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

