Taking out the Trash

There’s something pretty satisfying about clearing out junk you’ve accumulated over a length of time and cleaning everywhere up. Well, that’s the situation I’m in at the moment. I’ve been tidying, cleaning and sorting the rubbish out in my room for a couple of days now in preparation for leaving for home today.

My bags are mostly packed, and so now I sit in wait for my family to arrive. They’re a good bunch… I managed to get them to come up here to bring me home. I’d never have got all this stuff on the train in the first place, so I suppose it wasn’t difficult convincing them…

The other bonus of this is that while they’re here I can get them to go the rubbish tip. At last… we will truly be able to get rid of all the trash left behind by the Evil housemate. And there’s a lot of it. So many boxes. So much plastic. So many irons. And an ironing board. Not to mention a steering wheel for a PS2 which we don’t know what to do with. Bin it, sell it, or give it to a charity shop? But the rest of it is unusable. At the very least though, it means the house will finally be cleared of this messy legacy, and when I come back in September it should be a pretty nice place to live.

That’s assuming my housemates keep things clean and tidy while I’m away. I’m very concerned that no one will both putting some bleach down the toilet every week or so. I don’t want to have to clean another seriously manky toilet again. The one I did a few days ago was bad enough!

I think the nerves are starting to build. This time next week I should be at Heathrow, preparing to fly out. I’m really looking forward to it, but I’m still doubting my own ability as to whether I’ll really be able to cope. This will be the biggest venture into the unknown I’ve ever done. It far surpasses starting University – which was terribly nerve wracking in itself. But this could be difficult…

Either way, it’s something new. I could really do with some of that right now. This will be my last day in Hull until September. Much as I’ve grown to love the place, I don’t think I’ll miss it. Too many bad memories. Hopefully I can wipe those clean and start afresh next academic year. Ack. A second year I’ll be. I liked being a freshman.

I’ll be blogging by e-mail for the next few months. Hopefully. It works fine, so my rantings should appear as normal.

Wish me luck.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

