Friends

I haven’t gone home yet. My parents decided they couldn’t take me home on Friday, so I’m going home today instead. I took advantage of this bonus day by going out last night with two friends from my 6th form college. We only went to play pool at the local snooker club, but it was good anyway because it reminded me of the “good old days”.

My friends here back home are the best friends I’ve ever had. There were five of them, and even though I only knew them for two years of my life, they were the greatest. It’s got me thinking… my friends back in Hull just don’t meet this level. There’s something about them that I just can’t get over, and I think this could be one of the other reasons why life in Hull is sometimes a struggle.

At times, they’re just too intellectual. They never seem to stop. One minute it’s arguing over the fact that I’ve just said “borrowed” when I should have said “lent” (nothing worse than pedants) or discussing which is their favourite word. I steer clear of such conversations, and I’ve told them on a couple of occasions now to shut up, since it really doesn’t matter. In Hull I have four friends, and only one of them is pretty much on the same level as me. The others are beginning to completely annoy me.

But back here at home, it’s nothing like that. We are all from similar backgrounds, and we all have sharp and ruthless senses of humour. We’re more laid back and relaxed, yet at the same time we can mix that up with serious conversation. To me, it was the perfect balance of zany fun and straight-forward normality.

But it’s not like that in Hull. I don’t feel that I act in the same way. I’ve somehow managed to carve myself out another personality. I try to be the way I normally am, but I don’t feel it’s completely approved by my friends who seem to have got to know and like “their” Matt. It’s bad, and I shouldn’t have let it happen.

One of the disappointments of last night, however, was the fact that only two other people could come, as my three other friends couldn’t. It’s the sign of the gradual drift away as we all set off on the courses of our own lives. It’s the sign that people have begun to work, or are not in living in the place where they “should” be… that they have other lives to lead now, and I’m not particularly an important part of it.

It’s sad really, but it’s not their fault. I’m sure they think the same of. It’s just the way life works out. The amount of friends everyone leaves behind is a frightening statistic.

And I feel I’m beginning to add another five to it.

