Update

It’s been a good few days since I got home. This is the first chance I’ve had to use the family computer without there being someone else around… obviously, I don’t want to write things into here without people looking over my shoulder.

My interview on Wednesday for Camp America went reasonably well, I thought. There were some stupid questions like, “When was the last time you turned a mundane task into an exciting one?” and they asked all the usual rubbish about being a good team worker, as if just because I told them it’s true it must be. I don’t trust interviews… there’s too much scope for the interviewer to miss things and write something negative based on something stupid. I think the only thing they can really prove is whether or not you can articulate yourself well by speaking good English.

In any case, it was much tougher than I thought it would be, but I think I was confident enough for a change and managed to get through it. I’ll find out if I’ve been accepted within the next week. I don’t really know what my chances are, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

Thursday to Saturday were mostly quiet days. Of course, I was totally unsurprised when I got home to find that once again the family computers were riddled with spyware and viruses. Each time I’ve come home now I’ve had to fix them… so I had to waste yet more of my life doing that on Friday and Saturday.

Last night there was a family party to celebrate me coming home. I do have a good family… I spoke to a lot of them last night and they all encouraged me to keep going. So then I turned this on its head by having a few words with my 16-year-old cousin who I get on well with.

When I was a bit younger I hated receiving advice. It was from adults who thought they knew better, and I had no intention of following in their footsteps. As I was talking to my cousin about how she’s got to keep studying, keep working, and going to university will be a great thing for her to get away from her difficulties here… I realised that I too had become one of those people I hated – giving out my advice freely as if I was the sole authority on the subject. But I couldn’t help it. It was all I have learned since September.

Life can be cruelly ironic. Just another example of how I’ve left my childhood behind me.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. oi. just another blog girl from..believe it or not..croatia who accidently ran into your blog..*8) so..hello!

    Reply
  2. Hello there. Nice to hear from you. Hope you keep visiting! Do you have a blog of your own?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

