The Blogosphere

Do you have a good blog that you think I might read? If so, then read on…

I enjoy blogging. But I tend to enjoy writing more than I do reading, which is a problem if that is repeated across everyone. Why? Simply because you end up with more blog writers than there are readers in the “blogosphere”.

And when that happens, there ends up a lot of blogs that no one reads. I count mine in this list. This doesn’t particularly bother me as this is just an outlet for my frustrations and something for me to look back on and see how I’ve “grown” as a person. I wish I’d been doing it for much longer and I hope to continue doing so for a while. And after all, I’m not particularly convinced that anyone else will find any of this remotely interesting.

Which brings me on to my point: is there actually anything interesting in the blogosphere at all? And if there is, what percentage of it is good?

Of course, the definition of good varies from person to person. What I’m looking for is probably way different to what another person is.

As blogging becomes more and more popular, more and more people are going to start writing blogs. And when people start doing things like that they become less inclined to read other people’s blogs. And so there are fewer people out there to read and pass comments around. It’s my theory that the blogosphere is eventually going to become a pretty lonely place.

Today I decided to search for other blogs from people around the same age as me who look like they might have something interesting to say. My hit/miss ratio was extremely low. I’ve been looking for many hours now through the blog directory Blogwise, and a good chunk of blogs put me off in seconds often by poor design. Others are impossible to read as the standard of English is so bad. I’m not after perfect English, or even anything near perfect… I just want it to be good enough that I can understand it! Others are written as if they’re a conversation – so there’s a lot of spurious words all over the place like “umm” “er” “eh” “ah” “….” and more. I can’t read something that takes years to get to the point. Or they are just not detailed enough – I like to read about people’s emotions and thoughts, not just their actions. There’s no soul to most blogs, if you see what I mean.

I would dearly love to find some blogs to read by other people. When you find a good one, it’s genuinely fascinating to read about the experiences of that person and you can form a bond with them. I don’t like to read “happy, happy” blogs – where everything is perfect because that is not a real life. Reality is important. Psychology is important.

Of course, I’m talking about personal blogs here. I can read specific politics blogs and technical blogs about certain subjects with no problem. Those are more likely to be successful. But the bar of quality is set much higher if there are people’s lives involved. I’m pretty sure my own blog would not pass my own quality test if I were a different person applying these rules to it. But it doesn’t mean I shouldn’t give up.

I would ask anyone reading to post a link to their own blog, or any other personal blog that they think is interesting. But then again, I’m not quite sure if anyone else is reading this, so that’s probably counter-productive. If you are, then try it. You’re guaranteed a visit from me and I’ll be brutally honest. What more can you ask for? šŸ™‚

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. in support of your blogging experience i’m going to read some more of your blog and try to check back when i can. i’ve been blogging since August (with a break for a while when i just had way too much going on to keep up) and it has been a great experience. hope yours is as rewarding. keep it up.

    i’m at http://talesof3.blogspot.com/ in case you want to drop by.

    Reply
  2. I joined Blogger today and have been browsing through a few blogs to see what kind of posts people are writing. Yours is the first I’ve found that really interested me and compelled me to continue reading. Maybe it’s because I can identify with many of the feelings you express, especially in your “Messed up…” post of Jan 29th which made me realise that I’m not alone in having similar thoughts and worries bouncing around in my head. But it’s also because your writing is coherent and, in contrast to most bloggers, you genuinely have something interesting to say.

    I’ll be sure to return and read your future comments, and I hope that I’ll be able to write something myself that might be of interest to others.

    Reply
  3. One fun blog I like to read, mostly because her life is quite unlike my own (plays in a band, lives in NYC), and because she writes in a fun, punchy way is:
    http://www.livejournal.com/users/kittymalicious/

    Reply
  4. Hey. I just discovered your blog, and it’s quite good. I plan on reading more of it.

    My blog – which I think fits your criteria about being relatively in-depth about emotions and thoughts, and having good English and not being TOO conversational – is at camerastore.blogspot.com. I’d love to hear what you think about it. A good fraction of it is just me bitching about working in a store, but some interesting thoughts do come from that.

    In any case, keep on blogging.

    Remus

    Reply
  5. Hey guys and gals. First off, I want to pass you thanks for your kind words and the suggestions for websites to read. In fact, I was just amazed to see people had actually responded at all, so I’m very grateful. I’ve just come back from my friend’s house now and am about to go to bed, but I will check all of your sites tomorrow and maybe even post a few comments back.

    Some individual comments:

    Lola: you’re absolutely right. Blogging is a great experience. It’s just fun to be able to use it as an outlet for so many thoughts that you can’t really give to other people. Cheers.

    Andy: it’s interesting to hear from other people who go through turbulent times. It’s one of the best ways to get through them – simple communication. It’s why I started blogging, and if other people read them and find it worthwhile then that’s even better, although entirely unintended. Thank you for your kind words, and good luck with your blog. I’ll be sure to check it out.

    Marc and Remus: I’ll be checking both of those sites tomorrow. I will be more patient than I normally am, especially now I have personally recommended blogs to read. Thanks!

    Keep them coming if possible!

    Reply
  6. Hey,
    Well, Matt, her I am returning the favour, an excellent blog, keep up the good work!

    Anyone else wants to look then you’re more than welcome to:
    http://iamtheb.blogspot.com

    Reply
  7. Cheers, Ben. Good plug too šŸ™‚ I imagine I’ll add a link to your blog in my currently nonexistent links section.

    Hope to keep seeing you around here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

