Relative Calm

It’s been a quiet few days. Two of my friends who live in this house with me went home for an extended four day weekend and there’s still no sign of them. Alas, it has meant I’ve been dealing with the stupidity and filth of the other two on my own for a few days, but I guess it’s character building.

I’m not quite sure what I’ve been doing lately, but I know what I should be. I have decided that I’m going to at least apply for one of the many Summer Camp America programmes there are around, but I only have this month to fill in the forms and get the references. So far I’ve shown no enthusiasm for getting round to the mighty biographical essay I have to write, and time is ticking away. Plus, within a few weeks I’ll have some more important deadlines involving my essays for my politics modules in my head, which will make a significant contribution in making me feel bad about myself.

The non-stop dreaming hasn’t stopped. I think there’s only been one night where I didn’t dream anything recently, and that was probably because I only managed to get in 5 hours of sleep. They still don’t make any sense, but they sure are interesting.

Today I also went to a meeting to find out more about what I’m going to be doing in my third year of Uni. I’m currently on a particularly special course whereby in the third year you spend a year in Parliament working for an MP as their intern. It sounds amazing, and I’m looking forward to it immensly. I was a little put off by the £10,000 or so overall living cost across the year cited by the previous students who I spoke to today, as I don’t have anywhere near this kind of money available. Sounds like it’s going to be a tough year. Better start putting money aside…

Final thought: why is there no such thing as a warm water tap? I only ever seem to be able to wash my hands in freezing cold or roasting hot water. Why has no one invented a water system which siphons off a little bit of water and heats it to only 35 degrees C or something, which allows people to wash their hands in comfort! Extremely annoying. And extremely painful. Our cold water feels like it’s only a few degrees above freezing, and one of these days I’m going to get frostbite off it.

Perhaps it’s just another of the many Wonders Of Hull. No purchase necessary.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

